New Mexico Driving Advice re: Tomorrow's "Storm"?
January 7, 2016 9:20 PM   Subscribe

Tomorrow night around 6pm, I am driving with my mom from Albuquerque to Santa Fe. My parents are watching the Weather Channel and FREAKING OUT that they think a coming storm is going to make our 1 hour drive impossible or *horribly dangerous.* Is this true?

Hey! So my family is not from New Mexico, but I am in here meeting my mom for a weekend. We don't really know the area at all. We got some cheap flights into ABQ, and planned to drive to Santa Fe for a nice weekend together. She is arriving around 5pm Friday night, we were going to drive to Santa Fe immediately.

We don't know the terrain or some of the areas being called out in these travel advisories from the US Weather Service.

I am a confident snow driver (I've lived in Minnesota) and rented a decent car for the trip. Do we need to be worried about our safety on the roads? Right now my mom thinks we should scrap our (nonrefundable!) hotel reservation in Santa Fe and just camp out in Albuqurque. I think she's nuts.

We would be obliged for a second opinion from a local or someone with area experience!
posted by aoleary to Travel & Transportation around New Mexico (7 answers total)