Subtitled Yoga Videos?
December 3, 2015 1:25 PM   Subscribe

I'm interested in trying out yoga! I'm an inflexible beginner, so I'd like to start with videos (either online or DVDs). I'd rather not pay a ton, so free/inexpensive is preferred. There's just one hitch -- I need English subtitles/closed captioning. Google turns up loads of yoga videos but I can't tell which, if any, have captions. Any suggestions?
posted by saturngirl to Sports, Hobbies, & Recreation (7 answers total) 2 users marked this as a favorite

Best answer: Here's what a quick look at amazon turned up.

I want to caution you that it is tough to do yoga and look throughout at a screen. Your head and eyes just won't be in position. I'd actually suggest you take a beginner's yoga class instead. If you are in a groupon served area, there are a lot of coupons that make this quite affordable. Don't worry, most everyone else is inflexible too!
posted by bearwife at 1:37 PM on December 3, 2015

Best answer: My public library has yoga DVDs to rent. It's low risk to see if they have closed captioning. There are also dozens of yoga for beginners DVDs on half.com for around a dollar apiece . Rodney Yee's might be a good option.

That said, I really recommend trying to take a class when you're a beginner. You can really hurt yourself, or just not get very much benefit, if you do the postures incorrectly.
posted by vunder at 1:40 PM on December 3, 2015

Best answer: This one is aimed at hard of hearing viewers, and has captions. Also a few recommendations on a sparkpeople thread.
posted by aimedwander at 2:07 PM on December 3, 2015

Best answer: I like Yoga with Adrienne on youtube - I just checked a few random videos and they have CC available.
posted by melissasaurus at 2:19 PM on December 3, 2015 [2 favorites]