Lawyer v. Teacher
December 12, 2005 12:47 AM   Subscribe

What to be? A teacher or a lawyer?

I'm hitting the point in my undergraduate career at which I have to decide what I'm doing. I know I'm majoring in theatre. I'm torn between double majoring in PoliSci/PreLaw (graduate May 2008) or just majoring in theatre and minoring in history and teaching high school when I graduate (May 2007). I'm already twenty-four and the idea of graduating a year earlier is really appealing.

Am I totally cutting myself off from law school with the theatre major? Is being a lawyer worth the extra education/80 hour work weeks? Is there job satisfaction to be had as a history/theatre teacher? Making a difference in the world is a big deal to me...do you actually get a sense of doing that as a teacher? Help!
posted by youcancallmeal to Education (33 answers total) 3 users marked this as a favorite

If I were you, I'd get a law degree, be a lawyer for a while, and then go be a teacher somewhere. No reason you can't do all of these things--you might find you really like law, and if you don't, you can always drop out and shoot for teaching right away. Do the double major, if it won't kill you. I'm planning on doing something similar, only with an engineering degree of some sort, not a J.D.

I think teachers do make differences (some anyway, particularly depending on where they're at), but I've never asked one flat out what they thought.

That's a fuzzy answer for you, since I can't comment on the hard details. I have no idea how teachers are certified, either, but there's always Teach for America...
posted by hototogisu at 12:54 AM on December 12, 2005

I think you could pretty much major in whatever you wanted and still get into law school. I'm sure there are classes that would help (writing, critical thinking, etc.), but I think you could get the degree you want and still apply to law school later if you decided that's what you wanted to do.