Benchmarking frazzled-ness
November 11, 2015 8:15 AM   Subscribe

I have some questions about my experience of the world, relative to others', sort of along the lines of the "What is it like to not be depressed" thread awhile back. I'm familiar with the emerging body of literature that people really suck at multitasking, no matter how good at it they think they are, but I'm starting to realize that I'm really, really bad at it. What I don't know is whether or not most people feel this way.

When I only had me to manage, I was fine at life. I was great at school, didn't have any problems being independent in grad school, or having a job with no kids, and I adjusted ok to job + one kid. But now that I have a job and two kids (each of whom has some issues that require extra management) it's really hard to cope. For a long time it seemed totally reasonable to be distracted and a little crazy, because we were always dealing with a new crisis du jour (new baby, spouse work, kid sensory processing flareup and eventual diagnosis, baby health problems). BUT we haven't had much in the way of crises lately, I've obtained a significant amount of household help, and I've started investing some resources in self-care. By all accounts I should at least be managing better. After more than a few months, though, I still feel like I'm constantly floundering, and it's getting to the point where the reasons are starting to feel internal.