Audio tracks or MIDI tracks
October 17, 2015 2:57 AM   Subscribe

If I want to try to do a fair amount of editing, is it better to record audio tracks or MIDI tracks?

I'm learning Logic Pro and I've been trying to record tracks from my synthesizer. So far, I've been recording audio tracks and have been using different synth patches. I realize that if I want to use the software patches, I need to record in midi, but if the patch quality is the same, is it easier to edit audio tracks or midi tracks? Are there any big advantages or disadvantages of one or the other (either for editing or sound quality, etc)?
posted by gt2 to Media & Arts (9 answers total) 2 users marked this as a favorite

Disclosure: I am far from a pro at this stuff.

If you are using a synthesizer then I would definitely go with midi. Editing midi is easier because you can actually change the note information (what note is played, note attack, duration, etc...). You can pretty much always go from midi to audio. To use a somewhat awkward metaphor, using just audio is kind of like trying to edit a book and only being able to rearrange the pages instead of edit individual words. But that's what you have to do if you are playing in live instruments. (not that there aren't lots of fancy tools for editing/timestretching/etc audio tracks, but generally they are going to degrade sound quality)
posted by ropeladder at 3:44 AM on October 17, 2015

The difference between MIDI and PCM in audio work is roughly analogous to the difference between vector and raster formats in graphics work. The main practical difference is that with audio it's easier to do the "raster-style" edits at a high enough resolution to ensure that unintentional edit artefacts won't audibly affect the final result. PCM is essentially one-dimensional while raster graphics are two-dimensional, so audio file sizes don't blow out to anywhere near the extent that raw raster graphics do as you wind up the resolution.