Tinkering with electronics & mechanics: getting started
October 2, 2015 5:36 PM   Subscribe

I want to start tinkering with electronics/mechanics/appliances, specifically stereo equipment (preferably vintage/obsolete). I have little experience and I've never thought of myself as one with a good sense of "electronics" or even "mechanics" nor do I have any kind of STEM background. What baby steps do I take to get started?

The goal is to build a sound, if basic, understanding of how electronic devices function.

I'm focusing on stereo equipment because 1) it is intriguing to me, which will help keep me interested in the face of any frustration while learning and 2) I know I will put it to use in my daily life, which will keep me in practice.

I am very much a kinesthetic learner. For this reason, I'm not at all averse to heading to the thrift store and picking up random broken electronic stuff for a few bucks so that I can play around without worrying too much about the consequences of breaking things in the process.

Obviously, I still need some good visual/written guides to get me started. Where do I start? What are the most accessible books, guides and online videos (all preferably free)? Seriously - the more accessible, visual and clear cut, the better. I have a humanities background and am coming at this with nary a clue.

Note that I am especially interested in learning about vintage and even obsolete electronics/technology... in addition to stereo/audio equipment, I'd also be interested in film/camera equipment of all types.

Also of note:
1) I realize it would be ideal to learn this with the help of another person showing me, and my partner is knowledgeable with vintage stereo stuff, but he works long hours and I'd like to work on this independently in my free time - obviously, I can still talk with him about what I learn and get some feedback, but the majority of my learning will have to be on my own.