Free curriculum for the self-taught web developer?
September 8, 2015 6:27 PM   Subscribe

I want to build up my skills as a web developer, and just completed CodeAcademy's Ruby course. What's next?

I've always been interested web design and spent a lot of time in high school in the mid-90s building random web pages; I also enjoyed learning programming in my computer science classes (Turbo Pascal and Hypercard!) I don't want to make any kind of a career change, but I think learning more about web development would be a useful complementary skill set for my job as a business analyst. There are a lot of free resources out there, and I'd like to take advantage.

I am reasonably comfortable with HTML and CSS, so I thought I'd tackle Ruby as my next focus. (The devs at work use Ruby on Rails.) I enjoyed learning skills and breezed through CodeAcademy's lessons, but I don't have any illusions that I'm adept or anything now--I've been looking at some of the exercises at RubyMonk and still find many of them quite challenging and/or beyond my skill set.

I'm ready to learn more, but where do I go? RubyMonk is one place, but I'd like to be at least somewhat deliberate with this and make sure I make the most of my time. The trouble is there is just so much out there. Just for Ruby there are so many web resources and that's without going into all the other stuff I want to learn about. There's loads of stuff on CodeAcademy, of course, but there's also The Odin Project, Learn [Language] the Hard Way, and all kinds of books.

How can I best spend my time?
posted by synecdoche to Computers & Internet (6 answers total) 29 users marked this as a favorite

Depending on what exactly you hope to achieve, it might actually be worth becoming familiar with a couple of other languages, say Python and PHP. It can be fairly handy to be able to understand what is being done in a wide array of languages.
posted by wierdo at 7:47 PM on September 8, 2015

Try your hand at a css zen garden design.