Learning To Read Mathematical Notation?
August 12, 2015 1:42 PM   Subscribe

I do not have a math background, but I have been learning statistics for work and while I understand the concepts, I am having a really hard time reading mathematical notation (proofs, formulas, etc). It feels like I missed the 101 class in reading the language of mathematics. Are there particularly good resources out there on reading Mathematical Notation?
posted by Spurious to Science & Nature (11 answers total) 17 users marked this as a favorite

it might help to link to an example. does this link help? that describes the kind of thing i think of when someone says "mathematical notation", but i am not sure how often it's used in statistics.

ps in my experience it really helps to sit down and translate it part by part to english. so you read out loud "for all ... there exists .... such that ...".
posted by andrewcooke at 3:16 PM on August 12, 2015

I second linking us an example. I have a math degree but I'm not sure what kind of notation you are running into. If it's primarily proofs, the class where I learned that was called Real Analysis so maybe one of those textbooks would help you. I know mine had an introduction on proofs and logic and notation.
posted by FireFountain at 3:29 PM on August 12, 2015

this page is more focussed on statistics. but it doesn't have angle brackets which is odd (i am having a hard time finding a page that includes angle brackets for expected values, so i am wondering if that's some brit / physics notation that's not generally used).
posted by andrewcooke at 3:31 PM on August 12, 2015

You can't approach mathematical notation as though it were a language with a single, well-defined, fixed syntax and set of symbols in which particular notations always have the same meaning.