Should I join the reserves?
August 10, 2015 2:49 AM   Subscribe

I already have a career, but I want to "serve my country" (USA). Should I join the reserves?

I'm an early 30-something with spouse + child(ren) living in the Northeast USA. We both have careers and can imagine staying in them long-term. I considered joining the military several years ago, but the timing wasn't right and I didn't want to give up my freedom of choice on where I live. I keep feeling a call to "serve my country", and wonder if the reserves might be a good way to scratch that itch in the next few years (assume I will join before I hit the age ceiling). I feel like I would always partially regret not doing this.

I have a college degree + masters degree (think business/administration skills), so I imagine I could go in as an officer- but what would I do? Do they really need me? Will the work be interesting? I can handle boring work, but I'd at least like to know it's supporting something important. I don't really need any of the offered benefits, so that's not really a draw, unless you think it should be.

My current employer has policies in place to support leave for military purposes (salary continuation, etc); I'd be especially curious to hear from people who were on reserves while juggling other careers and how that went.

Comments, challenges, anecdotes, personal experience welcome.
posted by anonymous to Work & Money (18 answers total) 1 user marked this as a favorite

I can handle boring work, but I'd at least like to know it's supporting something important.

Realize that you could be mobilized to "serve your country" anywhere, and at anytime--it will be up to politicians at the national and state level, not you. I'm going off of a small, younger sample size, but I know two different people who were in the Guard (one already a vet, one not) to pay for college and had to withdraw on extremely short notice from studies (which they returned to) in order to: