Are rebound relationships (and rebound sex) really often helpful?
July 19, 2015 9:01 PM   Subscribe

Looking at the end of a significant LTR that's probably going to be crushing once I get over the shock. They say that the best way to get over someone is to get under someone else. I have no experience with this. Is it really often true? (they also say that low-fat deserts and education debt are good for you).

I'm a middle-aged het man staring down the end of a relationship approaching a decade in length. It's one of a small number of sexual relationships I've had in my life -- probably partly because of religious nurture and partly by my own cautious nature I haven't gotten sexually involved easily. Rebound relationships of any kind haven't been a big part of my experience and rebound relationship sex is something I've never done.

Breakups are almost always terribly hard for me: I don't get in easy, and I don't get out easy. The unique emotional connection is what I treasure most about relationships, and it's always by nature irreplaceable. Sure, there's probably the next person, but it's never the same and I'm enough of an unusual flavor of tea that good companionship rarely seems to come back around quickly. On top of that I have what seems to be a better than average memory, and consequently probably a stronger attachment to the past. For example, I've taken as much as 10 years to really get over a 2 year LTR. If that ratio holds true for the current collapsing connection, I can expect to have really moved on sometime after most of my actuarial cohort is dead.