My gender is ....confusing
June 16, 2015 1:13 AM   Subscribe

I identity as genderqueer but as time goes on I think I may actually be a man instead. Can you point me to online support where I can try to sort this stuff out and learn what to do next?

The Blue introduced me to the concept of genderqueer about three years ago and it was a real AHA moment. I live in a small redneck town and have been sheltered from trans information. I'm reading as much as possible but really just want to find a decent place on the net where I can seek support and try to figure out what the heck I am.

There's no LGTBQ support groups here and no gender friendly therapists to go to. I can't travel due to disability and poverty to some place bigger so I've been patching together my identity on my own for the last four years (mainly thanks to this dear place). I've also been putting it on the back burner due to a myriad of mental health concerns. Occasionally I'd bring it up in therapy but my therapist had no real clue and I gave up after it kept being dismissed as a result of my mental issues.

Things are better now and the more I think about it the more it bothers me that my body doesn't match. I read stories of people transitioning and being out and cry and get jealous.

I told someone casually the other day that I look in the mirror and get weirded out that there isn't a teenage boy looking back. They said that I can't do anything about my age but the boy thing is always possible and it was a wake up call except I'm just not sure.

I am really naïve and lost on this issue. I feel really isolated and I don't know where to begin to figure this out myself. I try to get brave to bring it up with my gp and then figure what's the point? It will prolly be dismissed as me being crazy in this small town.