What is it I actually do for a living?
May 22, 2015 6:39 PM   Subscribe

I'm an administrator at an ISP. I'm not sure if I'm data entry or if I'm gaining transferrable skills. Inside are a list of tasks I perform on a daily/weekly basis...

My tasks include:

Auditing processes. Example: I go through 200-300 accounts that day to make sure call centre representatives did their job properly for a certain task/sale/work order. I check key things against a list before moving on 1-2 minutes later. Another task is to make sure cancellations, credits, and charges are done properly. If not, I fix them and send feedback to the representative. This is one of the many audits and corrections we do.

Invoices. I haven't done this yet, but I go through stacks of customer invoices to make sure the right amounts are billed to the correct accounts.

Credit card reversals and refund cheques. I go through accounts that are listed as closed, make sure they are, make sure all the equipment is returned properly, and then issue a refund cheque. Same process applies for credit card reversals.

Data entry. I go through hundreds of accounts to check the settings of equipment before the work orders are posted the next day. Apparently the ISP wants to make sure the equipment is turned on properly and reduce call volumes. These changes are marked on an Excel spreadsheet. Similar route tasks are assigned to different people in my department.

Phone number ports. I make sure when accounts are transferred with phone numbers, they're done properly. We go fix issues representatives were unable to fix.

Emails. We respond to emails regarding sales processes sent to us by representatives. One guy watches a phone hotline that's there for customers/staff who have questions about the process. He typically gets 1-2 calls a day.