Where can I buy strong social studies and science homeschool curricula?
May 11, 2015 4:48 PM   Subscribe

Wanted: Ancient Civilizations and Earth Science homeschool curricula for a 6th grader. Trickiness after the jump...

The child, who I have been hired to teach, is currently enrolled in a popular online school whose curriculum basically involves reading a textbook and answering comprehension questions. Like any good parent, his mom would rather her son be exposed to a more robust, creative curriculum. For social studies, this means interesting essay topics, close readings of primary source documents, etc. and for science this means experiments and projects.

As a teacher, I am well familiar with the many awesome resources out there on the web and in bookstores, and would LOVE to put together a fun and engaging curriculum using these resources. However, that is decidedly NOT what the child’s mom wants to do. She wants to purchase something as close to a fully-realized, turnkey curriculum as possible, and is willing to spend substantial money on this, so that if she needs to move cross-country in the middle of the year, she won't be dependent on me to guide instruction. Does such a wonderful curriculum exist, or are mom, child, and tutor out of luck?
posted by chickenandwine to Education (7 answers total) 2 users marked this as a favorite

Does it have to be designed for home school? Doesn't pretty much every school district have publicly available currucula for each area of study and indivdual courses? Obviously some suggested activities require groups of kids and such, but I bet most of the content itself and certainly essay topics would be adaptable to one student.
posted by If only I had a penguin... at 5:15 PM on May 11, 2015

I'm a 6th grade teacher.