Exorcizing the devil from the details
April 22, 2015 7:33 PM   Subscribe

I'm currently studying undergraduate math and though the concepts are clear, I lose a lot of marks through carelessness or small errors. Please help me pick up on/avoid these better.

I am sure I lack discipline. As a fairly bright sort I am accustomed to doing math in my head, which no longer cuts it at university level. Trying to hold it in my head for more involved problems results in small errors like losing a minus sign or slight number errors which throw the whole thing awry. I also have trouble mixing up capital and lower-case letters, which doesn't help.

The question is twofold: Faced with a similar detail-demanding discipline, what methods do you use to avoid errors? Similarly, how do you -find- errors after the fact?
posted by solarion to Education (15 answers total) 7 users marked this as a favorite

Best answer: I totally do this. Especially when I feel like I really get the material and feel like I can just speed through the work. The only way I have found to avoid it, is to re-work every problem, especially on tests. If I have two hours to take an exam, I use it all, checking and re-checking. I paid for the class, dammit! I'm getting my money's worth!

If I am tired or distracted, I know I will make more mistakes. When I reach this point, first I take a break. Stand up and walk around. Stretch. Get something to drink. (During a test, I just stop, relax my shoulders, roll my head around, rest my eyes for a moment.) Then I will take the time to write out all the steps - even simple arithmetic steps - one step on each line. (I actually kind of like seeing complicated math problems all written out line by line all tidily aligned on the equals sign. Dorky but true.)