Assigning keyboard shortcuts to Mac OS services
April 21, 2015 5:04 PM   Subscribe

I want to be able to trigger an Applescript with a keyboard shortcut. I'm confused.

I feel like a moron. I've been using Mac OS for ten years, and have never really figured out how to use Automator.

I'm transcribing a bunch of audio files. I want to be able to use a keyboard shortcut to make Quicktime go back ten seconds. I found the script here and copied it into Automator (screenshot). When I launch it from there, it works perfectly. It also works perfectly when I launch it form the "Services" menu in Quicktime.

But when I try to assign a keyboard shortcut to it (screenshot), it doesn't work at all. I've tried a bunch of different keyboard shortcuts. What am I doing wrong?

I have a 2009 Mac Mini running OSX 10.10.2.

Thanks!
posted by roll truck roll to Technology (4 answers total) 1 user marked this as a favorite

I don't know if stock Mac OS lets you assign global hotkeys or not. Alfred does, but that's a third party app and you have to buy the $25 Powerpack to enable the feature. I love Alfred and think it's worth the money, but there's probably a free way to do what you want.
posted by Nelson at 5:33 PM on April 21, 2015 [1 favorite]

I tried this on 10.10.3. I used a different shortcut (shift-ctrl-uparrow). But what I had to do to make it work was - define shortcut; close Services preference; do it once via the services menu. Once I did that, it worked via the keyboard shortcut. I tested this in both VLC and QT Player.
posted by nightwood at 5:46 PM on April 21, 2015

Fast Scripts, from venerable developer and former Apple employee Daniel Jalkut, will let you do this fairly easily and for free.
posted by griseus at 6:38 PM on April 21, 2015

Thanks a lot, everyone.