Terrible at sensing a man's interest... is he?
March 21, 2015 2:05 PM   Subscribe

I’m having trouble figuring out how a prof in my department feels about me (I'm a graduate student). I’m 100% certain that he cares deeply for me, as I do for him, but what has never been made clear is whether there is or might be anything romantic in it. I know where I’m at, but not being able to read minds (or hearts), I’m having trouble figuring him out. The last few last times I’ve seen him things have gotten especially confusing, and it’s been completely preoccupying me. I've included details below the cut.

So to continue:
We’ve known each other for about 5 years now, but only really started to interact more and get closer when I TAd for him about 1.5 years ago, and we discovered that not only do we work amazingly well together, we also both really enjoy each other’s company. Since then, I’ve TAd for him again, we’ve worked on a few grant applications together, I’ve asked his advice on how to deal with analysis issues I’ve had, and we’ve talked about our lives, families, travel, shared love of wine, and on and on. I pop in for a visit almost every time I’m on campus, and we end up sitting there talking and laughing for at least an hour or two each time, even if it means neglecting other things we should be doing for a bit. Every interaction brightens my day, and he’s made it clear he feels the same. There are a number of reasons for him to hesitate to show any clear signs of interest, so his being unequivocal about it (if he is interested) in word or deed is likely out, unless he was sure he’d be well received. Even with what’s happened so far, there could be a situation if someone walked in, let alone if I were to react badly (pretty much all of this has happened in his office, with the door open, btw). The same reasons make it basically impossible for me to ask directly what exactly is going on (though I’m getting closer!). Here’s what’s happened: