Help Shoe Me
March 19, 2015 7:25 AM   Subscribe

I want to take up running. I'm a very new beginner and am going to start by way of C25K. Slow and steady is the plan. I don't plan on pushing myself. The extenuating factor here is that I have Cerebral Palsy.

I went to the Running Room store yesterday to get some advice on shoes. As I over pronate due to my CP, they advised motion control shoes. I'm not adverse to the idea, but the more I read about them the less convinced I become that they are the right choice. Most places don't even sell them it seems.

Does anyone have experience with motion control shoes, if any? Or specialized versus neutral shoes? I realize you Are Not My Shoe Expert.
posted by aclevername to Health & Fitness (9 answers total) 2 users marked this as a favorite

I've been running for ~10 years, anywhere between 6-30 miles/week. I only wear motion control shoes, specifically Brooks Adrenaline. When I first started running I got "fitted" at a running shop where they observed my gait and recommended those. I've probably gone through 5 pairs and I love them.

They are definitely not the most attractive shoes out there but I have never had foot problems or any running-related injury.
posted by pintapicasso at 8:58 AM on March 19, 2015 [1 favorite]