Lost my driver's license, now what?
March 10, 2015 10:25 AM   Subscribe

I'm an out-of-state student in Boston, and I lost my driver's license this past Thursday. I realized I lost it on Monday, so I've started carrying around my US passport for identification. I've called all stores, restaurants, and bars I've been to this weekend, and no one seems to have found it. What are my next steps? I am getting a duplicate license from my home state's DMV. Please help me out MeFi!!
posted by mushtale to Grab Bag (9 answers total)

What else are you concerned about? It seems like you've got all your bases covered, assuming you're not missing any credit cards along with it.
posted by deludingmyself at 10:28 AM on March 10, 2015 [4 favorites]

Check your state's dmv web site, the Mass site let's you print a temporary until the new one is mailed.
posted by sammyo at 10:31 AM on March 10, 2015

Do you drive regularly? If not, the only place I can imagine having any trouble is bars and many bars won't care. As long as you (and whoever you're meeting up with) are aware that you might get refused entry, you're fine.
posted by maryr at 10:35 AM on March 10, 2015

As someone who lost their passport let me tell you that if you lose that passport you have a HELL of a bigger problem than if you just lose a lousy license.

You need your license to apply for a replacement passport, but you do not need other ID to replace your license. In my state you just need the info that's on the license to replace it (including the number). If you do not have a DMV ID you will not get your passport replaced even if you already pay the exorbitant replacement fee which is over $200 and they don't refund you any of it if you're missing something in the application. While losing your license I think it costs no more than 5 or 10 bucks to replace.