What am I doing with my life?
February 25, 2015 11:48 AM   Subscribe

I am happy with my job right now, but I don't have a career. I'm smart but due to certain circumstances in life I haven't had a stable work history until now. I have a career in mind but I'm kind of in a catch 22.

I'm going to be 30 this year. Due to mental health issues I didn't finish college. I attended twice, in my late teens and then in my mid twenties, but it just wasn't for me, I dropped out fairly quickly. I don't want to go back. I had a very spotty work history until last year. I have been at my job a year and I'm doing very well.
I am currently an office manager at a very small non-profit (there are just 3 of us). I'm in NYC and I feel very lucky to have a stable job, especially lacking a degree. My job is the first I've had that I have done well at and that I've stuck with and it has given me the stability I was longing for. I like my job but it won't always be enough for me. I have zero room for growth within this company and being an office manager isn't my dream job.
I know I'm smart and driven, I'm very good with organization, problem solving and working independently. I am insecure however because I don't have a degree and my experience is in a role I just don't want.
I have, for a long time, wanted to get into a producer role somewhere. Ideally I would like to work in the film industry. My boyfriend is in the industry and the more time I've spent with his colleagues, I'm sure it would be a great fit for me. I did spend some time while unemployed helping a colleague of his, who is a producer, and she said I would be amazing at it. I spend enough time talking to him about work and being around his office, to know what it entails. I think I would be great at it. It's an industry I love, the pay is great and it's challenging.