Where to move in coastal US / possibly internationally?
February 23, 2015 5:59 AM   Subscribe

After 28 years in snowy New England and finding a wonderful partner with SAD, I am seriously considering moving to a much warmer climate in the next couple of years. List of caveats below the fold:

I am a nurse so can get work pretty much anywhere. Complicating factor is that partner is a lobsterman and would need to live in a coastal area to continue commercial fishing.

So, non-negotiable:
- Must be within 30 minutes of coast / working waterfront
- No snow !
- Buy a house for <$300,000

Really want:
- Walkable. To at least a couple stores / a park.
- ideally in a small town, or at least a place with a small town feel.
- not completely conservative. Partner is conservative but from a liberal area, I'm liberal from a liberal area.
- close to some scenic outdoor public spaces. Love hiking.

Places we considered:
- Florida. My parents bought a house in sarasota and it would be nice to be close to them. Sarasota is a complete 180 from the liberal small town I grew up in, though. Any coastal Florida communities that are more walkable/small town/not super old?

That's really it. We are in the brainstorming stage now as this won't happen until I finish school in ~2 years.
posted by pintapicasso to Travel & Transportation (9 answers total) 9 users marked this as a favorite

The Tampa neighborhood of Seminole Heights ticks every single one of your boxes.
posted by _Mona_ at 6:24 AM on February 23, 2015 [1 favorite]

Check out Gulfport. It's on the edge of St. Petersburg, and it's got a small town feel but easy access to larger city amenities. It's less than an hour from Sarasota.

If you spent some time in Sarasota I suspect you would meet some like-minded people. It's got arts museums and colleges, both of which tend to have at least a few fairly progressive people on their staffs. Go visit your folks during the off-season, and wander around.