Handling being hit on 101
February 21, 2015 10:46 PM   Subscribe

I am a butch genderqueer trauma survivor with severe PTSD. I just moved away from abusive family and living on my own for the first time in a decade. I was feeling very positive and safe until a drunk guy groped me and tried to come into my apartment. Can you teach me how to handle that as I have no experience dealing with random gropes due to how I look and my response was wrong in every way?

Men don't sexually harass me in the streets. Men don't flirt with me. I am usually more afraid random drunk guy will notice half way through the conversation I have breasts and get angry. I am usually more afraid of being bashed for being gay.

I know I am 39 and lucky and naive and I should know basic ways to handle this but I don't. Please don't be too tough love in your approach. This doesn't happen to me. I have been raped twice and am a survivor of childhood abuse but not this random street thing and it is freaking me out majorally. It is triggering my PTSD and making my apartment feel unsafe.

I know I did all the wrong things. I was fiddling with a bag of dog poop and my apartment keys and walking up to the door of my building. I have to go up an alley to do that. I wasn't looking. He was drunk waiting at the door. (My building has no buzzer).

He asked my dog's name and she ran to get petted by a stranger. I chatted briefly. I didn't want to climb the stairs to enter cause I didn't want to let him in the building so I walked to the dumpster to unlock it and put away the poop. He stood talking to me. Asking questions.

My name. My age. If I smoked pot (did I have any pot). If I was single. I answered his questions.