Clothes similar to White House Black Market?
February 17, 2015 11:45 AM   Subscribe

What are some other stores or clothing lines like White House Black Market?

I'm not good with fashion, I think what I like is the tailored/fitted style, the little details like ruching or decorative sleeve buttons, b/w or solid colors. I don't know what makes it different from Express or Limited, but many items at BHWM seem 'me'. What I am having a problem with is the quality--the block color sweater that bled unrecoverably, the tshirts pill quickly despite hang drying. I do have several skirts that have lasted years, so maybe I'm just hard on my knits? Thanks!
posted by lemonade to Clothing, Beauty, & Fashion (10 answers total) 12 users marked this as a favorite

Ann Taylor Loft? Banana Republic?
posted by chesty_a_arthur at 11:51 AM on February 17, 2015

You might like Ann Taylor, Ann Taylor Loft, or Talbot's. Also possibly Land's End. I believe all of these are likely to have similar looks but provide higher-quality clothing. The downside is the higher cost, though.

The Merona line at Target also sometimes has similar lines at a lower price point. Dress Barn (believe it or not) also can have solid-color basics with interesting details at lower price points. However, the quality is hit or miss.
posted by pie ninja at 11:51 AM on February 17, 2015

Boden.
posted by adiabatic at 11:57 AM on February 17, 2015

Franchesca's may have what you're looking for, although it skews young.

Check out Macy's for good quality brands in knits like Jones New York, Lauren, Charter Club. These will be snoresville, but you can get them on sale and they will good quality.

Nordstrom Savvy has VERY cute things, and they now have Topshop (a UK brand.)
posted by Ruthless Bunny at 12:06 PM on February 17, 2015

It might be too "country estate" for you, but Orvis has a very tailored look in their women's line.
posted by small_ruminant at 12:17 PM on February 17, 2015