Cribbage rules -- scoring during play
February 12, 2015 9:04 PM   Subscribe

In pegging, we had a run of 2, 3, 4, 4, 3 and totaled it to 16 points, counting as if it were in a hand. I have checked several sources and none deal with this exact situation. So specifically my question is: would the person who played the second four score 8 points (6 for the runs and 2 for the pair) and would the person who played the second three score 16 (12 for the runs and 4 for the two pair)?
posted by jackmcc to Sports, Hobbies, & Recreation (8 answers total) 1 user marked this as a favorite
 
The second four wouldn't get counted as a run b/c it's in a sequence of 3-4-4 and thus . . . not a run. Just a pair. The person who played the second three wouldn't get anything. Unless you've switched where the two was in this hand by mistake? Though even if it was 3-2-4-4-3, it's still only a run for the 3-2-4.
posted by leesh at 9:12 PM on February 12, 2015 [2 favorites]


I think you might be confusing the way you count runs in regular play versus during pegging. In regular play the 2-3-4-4 hand has two runs of 2-3-4. But in pegging, the runs must be sequential, as leesh mentioned above.
posted by Neely O'Hara at 9:28 PM on February 12, 2015


Yep, pegging doesn't work like scoring hands. For instance, you've got two threes in that sequence but you wouldn't count them as a pair!
posted by Cannon Fodder at 12:05 AM on February 13, 2015


Nthing that you can't count double runs in pegging.
posted by coppermoss at 4:28 AM on February 13, 2015 [1 favorite]


For instance, you've got two threes in that sequence but you wouldn't count them as a pair!

I think they actually did count it that way ("4 for the two pair") at the end. But they should have. In the pegging, the correct scoring would be:
  • Player A plays 2
  • Player B plays 3
  • Player A plays 4, scores 3 points for the run of three
  • Player B plays 4, scores 2 points for the pair
  • Player A plays 3, scores 0 points (unless it's their last card)

posted by Johnny Assay at 5:10 AM on February 13, 2015 [10 favorites]


Agreeing with everyone else, I would score it as Johnny Assay has it.
posted by unreasonable at 5:37 AM on February 13, 2015


I'm with Johnny Assay here. Qualifications: been playing crib since I was 9, taught by my card shark grandmother.
posted by feckless fecal fear mongering at 6:07 AM on February 13, 2015


And, of course, I meant "they shouldn't have" [scored the two pair] in my previous comment.
posted by Johnny Assay at 1:39 PM on February 13, 2015


« Older Where can I test a bunch of different office...   |   Why is my wifi faster with 802.11n in 802.11a... Newer »
This thread is closed to new comments.