Is reneging *always* unacceptable?
February 10, 2015 11:28 AM   Subscribe

So I know the wisdom: don't renege on a job acceptance. That said, I'm considering it. Am I making a huge mistake?

I'm a student who will be graduating in May with a BA and an MA (with a set of in-demand skills; the job market is good for recent graduates compared to most fields). I know I was interested in strategy/management consulting (thanks for the help several years ago, mefi) and also in government-focused work, so I applied to a number of firms including a few public-sector focused firms and to the public sector division of one larger firm. I only applied to entry-level positions. I received and chose an offer from the large firm (call it place A). That was in October or so. I gave a verbal commitment at that point.

I felt pretty good about the job, although I wasn't crazy about certain parts such as moving cities and the fact that I didn't really feel like I "clicked" with the other people who got entry level offers (without going too far into detail, our reasons for being there and being interested in the work felt very different). I also know that a lot of my job particulars will be very tied to the project I'm on so it's hard to imagine exactly what the work will be like (and how travel-focused, difficult, menial, etc. my responsibilities will be). I'm fine with that but it makes it harder to imagine myself there.