Evening exercise and temporarily feeling totally drained.
February 9, 2015 8:05 AM   Subscribe

I do quite a bit of sport and have done so all my life. I’ve also had this temporary ‘totally drained’ feeling all my life too but I’m not sure what it is. YANMD but I'd appreciate your input anyway...

I know I had this temporary "drained feeling" when I was a young kid (mother confirms) and have definite, clear memories of having it when playing squash in the evening with friends from age 16. I’ve never had it when mountain biking in the morning, even for long, three-hour rides except when I started riding in the evening (back from work), so it’s more of an evening thing but I have sometimes experienced it during the daytime but not when exercising. As I cycle regularly, I know the exact time it happens but as I leave at pretty much the same time, it’s unclear whether it’s after half an hour of exercise (half way home) or at 6.15-30pm. I cycle in twice a week but on the other days, I’m back home and eating with the kids – mealtime around 6.30-7.00pm. When I take the bus home, I don’t get this feeling. I’d say it happens on 2 out of 3 evening rides I do.

This is the feeling. I start to get an empty feeling in my stomach that then leads to a cold sweat and a feeling of being totally out of energy, even breathing is a hassle and I have a total muscle slouch posture where I can’t be bothered to hold up my shoulders or my face-muscles and I feel slightly spaced out and can only be bothered to say “ahhh shit I’m f*cking dead, eeeeurrrgh”. This comes on within a minute, is strong for the initial 3-4 minutes, gradually fades and then within about 10 mins it’s totally gone and I’m back to high speed biking through the woods. It was the same thing with squash.