Alternate Careers for a Licensed Massage Therapist?
February 5, 2015 1:27 PM   Subscribe

Asking for my partner: I’ve been a licensed massage therapist since 2011 and have been working full time (24-28 hours/week hands-on) since then. Over the past two years, my body has been protesting more and more when I work.

I have additional certification in deep tissue, myofascial release, trigger points, clinical/medical (carpal tunnel, tennis elbow, frozen shoulder, and similar), some sports massage, and swedish massage. Currently I make about $40k, varying with tips and hours.

What career/job can I pursue that will:
- not waste my current knowledge/training
- provide comparable income
- be significantly less hands-on

I’d definitely pursue more education if that’d help me into a better career.
posted by HermitDog to Work & Money (11 answers total) 3 users marked this as a favorite

First thing that comes to mind, since he/she is willing to pursue more education, is Physical Therapy. It is hands-on, but not in the same way or to quite the same extent (in my experience) as massage.
posted by schroedingersgirl at 1:33 PM on February 5, 2015 [2 favorites]

How about esthetician? You can do facials and do some massage in the bargain. Facials are awesome because there's part of them where you're just laying there, listening to Enya and letting the mask do it's work. It's a lot easier on a person.

You can go further and do laser and injectables and work in a medispa. There's a lot of money in Botox.

I get my hair done at the Aveda Institute. It's a pricy option, there are others that are less expensive, but I like the experience I have at Aveda.
posted by Ruthless Bunny at 1:39 PM on February 5, 2015 [2 favorites]