How to cook chicken?
November 16, 2005 9:38 AM   Subscribe

CluelessVegetarianFilter: I've been a veg for about 6 years now. My girlfriend isn't. Normally this isn't a problem, but I'm looking to do something nice for her: Cook meat...

The problem is, while I'm an accomplished amateur chef, my skills are a direct result of having to provide for myself in the kitchen. She's something of a picky eater and has gladly abided my risottos, my frittatas etc, but keeps a stock of chicken nuggets in the freezer. I'd like to cook for her, chicken somethingorother, but I've got two big problems. One: I have no chicken recipies. I am utterly clueless. Any favorites? Two: And this is the big one, how does one cook chicken? When is it done? Is there any prep work to it? I may as well be taking Swahili here. Any tips are well appreciated!
posted by GilloD to Food & Drink (23 answers total) 3 users marked this as a favorite

Ha, funny. Find a recipe for "Meatless [Anything]", and re-substitute meat for the tofu, soy crumbles, or whatever was substituted for meat in the first place.

Frozen chicken nuggets are designed to be cooked in one fashion only: reheating in the oven. They are not a cooking ingredient. If you want to make something other than warm chicken nuggets, you'll have to purchase some chicken, beef, or whatever.

Chicken is actually slightly difficult to cook since the window between underdone and overdone is small. You might want to start with ground beef, which is nearly impossible to under or overcook.
posted by jellicle at 9:48 AM on November 16, 2005

Get a chicken breast per person, a few veg (your choice, I like carrots and mushrooms), an onion, some chicken stock and some white wine.