Let There be Light?
December 10, 2014 11:05 PM   Subscribe

Is there such a thing as too much light in a living space? I'm looking for a new apartment. One possibility is a large studio in a high rise tower (30th floor) with floor-to-ceiling west-facing, unobstructed windows. This is in the Northeastern section of the US (an area known for hot and humid summers). The property developers have not included cellular shades, only standard mini blinds. It is lovely now in the winter and makes the apartment seem large and cheerful, but will I regret signing a lease come July?
posted by girl flaneur to Home & Garden (27 answers total) 1 user marked this as a favorite

I have no geographic knowledge but in my Australian townhouse the western facing wall has one large glass sliding door into the living area and one large window onto the stairwell and come spring I loathe these features. We recently bought a sunblock umbrella for in front of the doors which made a big difference. The sunblock curtains work okay as well but block out breezes (unlikely to be an issue for you?) but in essence, large unshaded glass for full afternoon sun means I can melt butter by sitting it inbetween the curtain and the window.

Light is overrated in extremely sunny environments.
posted by geek anachronism at 11:08 PM on December 10, 2014 [2 favorites]

I can't sleep for shit in a sunny, bright room. My childhood bedroom was painted yellow and had bright yellow see-through blinds in there. I'd say to at least get blackout curtains if you're allowed for the bedroom.
posted by jenfullmoon at 11:11 PM on December 10, 2014

How many layers of glazing do the windows have? What coating do the windows have? There might be a reason why the flat is being rented in the winter, come summer that room might be a greenhouse. Ask them, and get them to put their answer in the lease agreement.
posted by devnull at 11:45 PM on December 10, 2014 [1 favorite]