Who can make custom iPod accessories for me?
November 11, 2005 11:14 AM   Subscribe

I have an idea for a couple of new iPod accessories. Unfortunately, I have no technical knowledge to design and manufacture them myself. I have put some money aside which I can use to finance the production. Where can I find someone who I can hire to build these products for me?
posted by zeerobots to Technology (13 answers total)

Can you give a little (more inside)? I might be able to help.
posted by Heatwole at 11:21 AM on November 11, 2005

I'd hit up Paul Griffin. That guy is all about the sweet iPod gadgets, and general gadget engineering. I met him briefly at a MacWorld. He's a friendly guy who obviously just loves to tinker.
posted by symphonik at 11:27 AM on November 11, 2005

I already talked to Griffin Technology representative and they did not want to work on my ideas.
posted by zeerobots at 11:28 AM on November 11, 2005

Heatwole, email me at sguen at mindspring dot com and we'll talk.
posted by zeerobots at 11:30 AM on November 11, 2005

I'd still try to track down Paul ... talking to a "Griffin Technology representative" probably wouldn't get you anywhere, no.
posted by symphonik at 11:35 AM on November 11, 2005

I already talked to Griffin Technology representative and they did not want to work on my ideas.

I hope you talked to them in writing.
posted by scarabic at 1:46 PM on November 11, 2005

"Accessories" is a very broad term.

Presumably you meant something technological? Which is why you've talked to Griffin? But maybe not. Perhaps you should clarify that you don't mean a new kind of protective case, belt clip etc.
posted by AmbroseChapel at 3:12 PM on November 11, 2005

AmbroseChapel, I have an idea of an electronic accessory. Not a case, a new skin or something similar.

scarabic, yes, I wrote to them and keep all the correspondence.
posted by zeerobots at 4:08 PM on November 11, 2005