Victoria Daytrip
September 5, 2014 2:38 PM   Subscribe

Three of us are taking the ferry from Seattle to Victoria, BC this Sunday morning at 7am. We're going to go to the botanical gardens, and take the ferry back at 6pm. Do you have any tips, suggestions, or recommendations to make this a relaxing, fun, stress-free trip?

Only one of us has been in Canada before (not me.) We'll have plenty of free time after the gardens. No car, and we're not big walkers, and we'll be tired because of the early wakeup. We love yummy food, yarn, craft & art stores, cute gift shopping, tea, and have pretty open minds.

The purpose of this trip more than anything is to catch up with each other because we only see each other maybe once a year and have been friends for 15 years. We're three women, all about 30.

Places to eat, things not to miss, things to avoid, best place to be really sleepy in the middle of the day? Tips to make the travel part less-taxing or really nice? I'm a good cook and was thinking of making up some breakfast things to eat on the ferry in the morning, would that be a good idea or more trouble than it's worth? Budget-friendly ideas are best; the ferry itself is pretty pricey. Thanks!
posted by Mizu to Travel & Transportation around Victoria, BC (12 answers total) 5 users marked this as a favorite

You say you like tea?
posted by Poldo at 2:52 PM on September 5, 2014 [2 favorites]

I am assuming that you are heading to the Butchart Gardens. The food at the Brentwood Bay resort nearby is fantastic, though a little pricey.

If you are staying in Victoria itself, Red Fish Blue Fish by the wharf is pretty good. Rebar impressed me with their vegetarian offerings.
posted by axismundi at 3:16 PM on September 5, 2014