Designing like a grownup!
September 5, 2014 8:51 AM   Subscribe

I would love some advice on how to approach researching for making our new home super awesome! I'm a design newbie but would love to learn more. Long-winded question below!

Mr. brilliantine and I are closing on a townhouse at the end of this month. It's a big step up in terms of space and newness. We're going from a 1960s building to an updated 1990s building.

The problem I'm running in to is how to get design ideas that will work well in our setting without falling into some styles that I don't like so much. The color scheme is pretty neutral - mostly cream walls, light carpet, light gold wood floors and cabinets, beige and brown granite countertops. We don't have money to change any of this at the moment, and I'm pretty happy with it as the basis of our home.

This is where I start not knowing what terms to use - I look at it and see a standard nice townhouse that's got a bit of that "designery" feel that's been popular for the past 8 years or so at least. Like if someone wanted to continue this aesthetic they would put up vinyl inspirational decals and signs with wine jokes on them. We're very much not that type, but we're also not NYC (or Austin) teeny quirky apartment types, which is what it feels like is all over DesignSponge and Apartment Therapy. I don't really know how to split the difference between these two, or how to look for practical ideas that aren't Ikea furniture but also aren't Design Within Reach (because really, I don't think we can quite afford that). I like browsing websites for ideas or items to purchase (hello Crate and Barrel, CB2, and Pottery Barn) but I'm starting to feel a bit overwhelmed. And while I like a lot of the style of those stores, I don't want it to look like I just ordered everything from a particular catalog shoot.