Woodwind = $?
November 4, 2005 1:36 PM   Subscribe

I have a flute. I don't play flute. I'd like to sell the flute. How do you sell a flute?

I inherited a flute from my great-great-aunt. (I'm the only one in the family with any musical ability, so they gave it to me. But since I studied piano, it's not very useful.) It's old - 1929 - and in quite good condition. I took it in to have it cleaned up, and I was told it might be worth as much as $2,000.

However, I haven't been able to find a method of selling it. There aren't any local music stores that deal with "antique" instruments. I listed it on Usedflutes.com, but I didn't get any serious offers - just scammers. I contacted a couple places online that sell instruments through consignment, but they didn't think they could find a buyer. Similar instruments on eBay are not getting bids.

So. . . anyone know how to sell a flute?
posted by ToasT to Work & Money (10 answers total)

I was going to suggest music stores, but it sounds like you wouldn't be able to get the proper value for it.

Perhaps contact the music department at your local university to see if any of their students are looking to upgrade?
posted by PurplePorpoise at 1:38 PM on November 4, 2005

Well, I was going to offer to buy it, but I totally can't throw down for that kind of quality :-)

I would suggest bringing it along with you next time you make a trip to a big city, but that isn't much of an immediate solution...

Why don't you try emailing faculty at local universities, or even more recognized conservatories? Maybe they'd have some ideas, or would even have need of such an instrument.

Similarly, are there any local or semi-local symphonies about? Finding the people who would use such an instrument might be a better way to find an intermediary than looking for an intermediary from the get-go...
posted by hototogisu at 1:46 PM on November 4, 2005