What should I do over winter break?
October 18, 2005 10:48 AM   Subscribe

Where should I go for winter break?

Background: I'm a senior in college who has lived in his dorm for the last 3 years (including all summer, winter and spring breaks). I want to spend 2-3 weeks doing something crazy over winter break, most likely travelling alone but possibly with one other person (I'm male, sorry cgs).

I'll have 3-5 thousand to spend on the trip. The only country I've been to is Canada. I only know english, so that is an issue. I'd love to go to New Zealand, but the transportation is too expensive. I'm a comp sci student who will probably spend the next 5 years in a lab, so I'd love to do something crazy outdoors (think climbimg Kilimanjaro). I don't want to go somewhere where I'll be stuck in the touristy areas. Nature is a plus, bars are a plus. I want to hike, swim, kayak, bike....

Departing from CT, USA. Free dates are cec. 17th through Jan 17.

Ideas?
posted by null terminated to Travel & Transportation (19 answers total)

Response by poster: *dec. 17th
posted by null terminated at 10:52 AM on October 18, 2005

I was going to suggest New Zealand, but it seems you've ruled it out, but my real point was - somewhere southern hemisphere. There is nothing like a few weeks of summer in the middle of winter to rip the guts out of winter :)
posted by -harlequin- at 10:53 AM on October 18, 2005

argentina / chile? Shouldn't take too much out of your budget for airfare, it's the summer, things aren't too expensive, and outdoor activities are plentiful.
posted by true at 11:01 AM on October 18, 2005

If you want to kayak and bike, you are probably going to get stuck in the touristy areas. They just aren't going to have facilities for this in a non-tourist area. As for the hiking and swimming though...

You could go to the interior of Jamaica. They speak English. It's warm. The interior is far less touristy. It's cheap(er).
posted by Pollomacho at 11:07 AM on October 18, 2005