How do I hack scheduling classes when I work all day?
November 18, 2013 10:17 PM   Subscribe

I'm a science teacher who is trying to take prerequisite courses in order to eventually apply for a graduate physics degree. The problem is as a teacher I work a set schedule everyday, and the pre-requisite classes I want are designed for the first-time college goer who is attending school full-time or has a part-time job at night. How do I get the classes I need?

So I've already started taking physics classes at the community college, and I'm having a blast. I signed up for a night physics course because I thought it was the only course offered at that school, but it turns out to be the physics for health majors or something. I can remedy that apparently by taking a supplementary course, but I do want to take the physics for engineers and scientists, however they're only scheduled right in the middle of the day while I'm teaching.

Because of the heavy lab segments that would be involved in such a class, taking it online is not very feasible. They also don't seem to offer the class during the summer.

I've looked at the nearby state college, and they don't even offer it during the summer or at night!

There is an entire course tree that I would love to take but again, they're all only offered during the day. This problem will arise again once I begin taking the upper-level physics courses.

I am fine with taking classes part time, and I do need to prioritize my career, but I don't want to settle for just letting this dream go. I will eventually take a few years off to complete the graduate degree but being as I already attended college to receive my B.S., I feel like it would be such a waste to leave my career (even if it's just a break) to complete just the pre-requisites.

Is there any way to hack the schedule or some tips or tricks to getting the classes I need but completing them in the time that I have?