Anyone know anything about buying a stair lift?
November 15, 2013 9:42 AM   Subscribe

So, I'm getting progressively more disabled and looking at getting a stair lift. I have zero experience with stair lifts. Does anyone have any words of wisdom about buying one?

I've got a progressive neuromuscular problem that's eventually going to limit me to a wheelchair, but hasn't yet. That may even still be years away. (Here's hoping, huh?) But it's now gotten to the point where it's barely possible and highly unsafe for me to pull myself up a flight of stairs. I've got stairs. In fact, the bedroom and full bath are upstairs.

Now, the best answer would be to sell this place and move into something where everything's on one floor. But the place next door is a more attractive property than mine and it took two years and drastic price cuts to sell. Putting in a downstairs bath would be great, but there's no way to do that isn't going to be terribly expensive. A friend's parent had an actual elevator installed a few years back, but I don't think that's even structurally possible here. Which ;leaves me thinking about a stair lift, but I have no idea which ones are good and which ones are bad.

I can google "stair lifts" but the results are so polluted with SEO trickery that it's hard to feel like I'm getting a handle on it. And I'm dead certain that any market which primarily serves the disabled and the elderly is going to be a shark-infested one. So I thought someone here might have some experience and be able to suggest at least the brand that I ought to be looking for, questions I need to be asking, and so on.

If it matters, it's a standard L-shaped staircase with 6 or 7 stairs, a landing, and then 6 or seven stairs. I can stand up from sitting unassisted if it's a reasonably high seat, but not if it's a really low one. The house's wiring is crap, but it ought to still be possible to add another circuit if needed.