How can I give myself the best shot at getting into PA school?
November 15, 2013 7:51 AM   Subscribe

I am 28, and will soon be setting out on the long journey of becoming a PA. I already have a bachelor's in another field, but I now need two years of science prereqs before I apply to PA schools. Should I go to my local community college for the prereqs (it'll be cheaper, and I'll have a better shot at getting top grades), or should I go to the more respectable, more expensive local university where straight A's will be harder to come by? In other words, what do you think admissions officers are more likely to value: excellent grades from a community college or the occasional B from a state university known for its medical school?

I've worked in politics for the U.S. House for 5.5 years after leaving college, and now I'm ready to completely change things up and go into the medical field. I'm a good student and a fast reader but I've never taken upper-division science courses, and it's been a while since I've been in school, so I'm not entirely sure how I'll fare in the PA prereqs. I also have limited funds and will likely need student loans, which when all is said and done, will leave me with a bigger chunk of change to pay back if I go the university route. What do you think? Community college or university? Does it matter?

Also, I would be incredibly grateful for any other tips you can offer on improving my application. I will be getting my CNA certification next month and will hopefully start racking up HCE hours soon. I was also thinking it wouldn't hurt to also become an EMT along the way and do some volunteering with that maybe in a local ER since EMT jobs are hard to come by in my market. What do you think of this plan?