Child-friendly Nexus 7
November 13, 2013 6:06 AM   Subscribe

What should I do to a brand new Nexus 7 to make sure it's both safe and fun when my four-year-old daughter unwraps it at Christmas?

Specific software recommendations welcome. Talk to me like I'm an idiot who's never used an Android device before, because a) I'm an idiot and b) I've never used Android before.
posted by monkey closet to Computers & Internet (6 answers total) 5 users marked this as a favorite

Best answer: 1. Make sure you've set a password for your Google Play account.

2. Create a separate user profile for your child and protect your main profile with a PIN, pattern or password. Add pictures to the accounts for easy identification. Each profile has its own set of apps.

3. Install something like AppLock. This will allow you to lock down all of the apps (such as Settings, Email, Google Play store and so on) that you don't want your child to use.

There are lots and lots of childproofing apps. Some more of them at MakeUseOf.
posted by pipeski at 6:39 AM on November 13, 2013

Best answer: Oh, and as well as one of those 'bumper' cases like the one planetesimal mentions, get some screen protectors. They can be a bit fiddly to apply (tip: do a google search on removing trapped dust specks with tape) but will do a lot to preserve the tablet's screen.
posted by pipeski at 7:09 AM on November 13, 2013

Best answer: Buy a screen cover and a bumper for it. I don't have specific recommendations, and my experience is that Android devices as a whole, and Nexus 7s specifically, are a lot tougher than you would expect, but that they do last a lot longer when protected, even minimally. (My partner and daughter both have butterfingers, and their tablets get dropped--ugh. A lot. A lot lot more than I am comfortable with, in a house that's almost all hardwood and tile. We've had one broken screen that I replaced easily, but no other damage.)