Refrigeration condenser selection help
November 9, 2013 12:23 PM   Subscribe

Hi, I'm a college mech eng student and my group has been tasked with designing a small refrigeration/heat recovery system from scratch. We've selected the compressor based on the cooling load and the evap and condensing temps that the professor assigned. Now we're trying to find an off-the-shelf condenser but we're stuck on how to evaluate the ones available to know how well they fit our needs. (details inside)

So the problem is this. We see that the specs provided for condensers show the max heat transfer rate, max pressure and temp, and max flow rate. However, we must not know how to use these for our selection because, based on our total heat rejection and also the temps, pressure, and flow rates predicted by our computer model, it appears that just about any one would work for us (because we're beneath all of their maximums and their heat rates generally always exceed our needs).

How can we use the condenser's specs and our data to choose the best one to fit our needs?

Details-------------------

System constraints are:
-max cooling load = 8500 Btu/hr
-R134a
-condenser needs to be a plate heat exchanger so that the waste heat can be recovered and used to heat a tank of water to near 120 F. The water from the tank is continuously recirculated through the condenser using a pump. The water flow rate can be chosen based on needs and pump cost.
-refrigerant evaporation temp should be near 30 F (for future functionality additions)
-use scroll compressor (for low noise) to be speed controlled in the future
-shoestring budget

The professor approved the compressor so we're working with it.
Spec sheet here: ZS09KAE_TF5.pdf
Webpage here

Info from that compressor's specs sheet:

At 6040 Btu/hr
       Evap temp = 20 F
       Superheat = 45
       Condensing temp = 120 F
       Subcool = 0
At 9640 Btu/hr
       Evap temp = 45 F
       Superheat = 20
       Condensing temp = 130 F