Condom doesn't cover entire penis - aids virus risk?
October 29, 2013 8:02 AM   Subscribe

I always practice safe sex, but the condom doesn't cover my entire penis and some of it is in contact with the vagina. Does this seriously increase my risk of being infected with HIV? (I use XL size condoms, but they don't cover everything, and as I tend to go deep, some of my skin is touching the vagina; but the most important parts are covered)
posted by anonymous to Health & Fitness (11 answers total) 2 users marked this as a favorite

Unless you have an open wound on your penis where the condom doesn't cover up, you're not really at any more risk. HIV is spread by bodily fluids, not by skin contact, or even skin-to-fluid contact.

Wikipedia on transmission; prevention is a little further down.
posted by LionIndex at 8:14 AM on October 29, 2013 [2 favorites]

I am not a doctor; I am not your doctor; this is not trained medical advice.

The HIV virus is transmitted through body fluids. It's generally harder for a woman to transmit to a man, because the sex act does not involve her shooting a fluid into your body. The only way that you would be exposed to HIV under the conditions you describe would be if you had a cut on your penis, or the skin surrounding it, somewhere on the part that is uncovered.
posted by EmpressCallipygos at 8:15 AM on October 29, 2013

HIV isn't transmitted by skin contact; as long as you don't have cuts or sores on the uncovered areas you're at very low risk.
posted by ook at 8:16 AM on October 29, 2013

If you're worried about that little bit at the root that's got a variable presence based on your level of body squishy-ness, I wouldn't fret too much.