UK Disability Law - venues inaccessible to performers?
October 28, 2013 10:11 AM   Subscribe

What laws apply to music/performance venues in the UK in terms of providing reasonable access to disabled artists? Example: a band with a member in a wheelchair, where the venue may not be equipped to allow a wheelchair user onstage or in the backstage areas.
posted by greenish to Law & Government (3 answers total)

Employers are required to make 'reasonable adjustments' under law. There is no set definition of reasonable. I don't think there is a hard and fast rule that theatres have to provide access.
posted by MuffinMan at 10:33 AM on October 28, 2013

Employers are required to make 'reasonable adjustments' under law.

That is as may be, and I'm not a UK lawyer, but I highly doubt that venues are considered to be the employers of artists they have perform.

That being said, I'm not even entirely sure how this would work under US law, to be honest. In the US, the ADA treats venues as "public accommodations" and requires them to be handicapped accessible. Yet the vast majority of the attention seems to be on accommodating the audience, not the performers. I'm having a lot of trouble finding authority on how access laws apply to performers, most of whom are not employed by the venues in which they perform and don't necessarily count as "members of the public" either, as they have a more substantial contractual relationship with the venue than the audience does.

I think most venues wind up relying upon safe harbor provisions which will not require venues to provide handicapped access to the stage if it would require a major change to the venue's architecture, cost a ton of money, impose a huge administrative overhead burden, etc. It would not surprise me if the laws in the UK were similar, but I could be seriously off there.
posted by valkyryn at 10:55 AM on October 28, 2013