'Tis the Season for Plaids, Browns, and Tweed...
October 16, 2013 11:28 AM   Subscribe

It is autumn in the U.S., but I am visiting New Zealand next month, where it will be spring. This is my first time to the southern hemisphere, and I'm wondering what I will encounter! Do they even know that it's pumpkin spice latte season there?

Fall and spring are very different seasons to me. Even though the weather is similar, I am more likely to wear corduroy in the fall and florals in the spring, boots in the fall and flats in the spring.

So the idea of leaving fall in the US and vacationing for two weeks in spring weather is kind of an exciting switch-up, and I really don't know how to make that switch!

I'm a little worried that what I will pack will feel out of place for the season. I'd like to ask if I should switch up what I'm packing, and try to pack for spring, but honestly the corduroy pants fit now and I'll probably bring them anyway. But if you have any insights on this, or how to switch things up, let me know!

Do international retail clothing stores bring out their 2013 Spring collections in the southern hemisphere, just six months later? Are they the same displays and clothes, or are they different? Does Starbucks hype the pumpkin spice lattes, hot chocolates, and salted caramel stuff right now, or do they put it out in April and May? (I know pumpkin is mostly an American thing.)
Or is there something special or different about spring flavors that I should look out for while I'm there?
posted by aabbbiee to Society & Culture (14 answers total) 1 user marked this as a favorite