I'm (no longer) hot for teacher, can I attend his class?
October 15, 2013 10:52 AM   Subscribe

How bad of an idea it is to attend a university class given by a lecturer I've secretly dated?

I'm an early thirties female student, back in school for a PhD. Last year I had a short affair with a guy I met socially through a friend. Said guy was in an open, long-distance relationship. It was mostly flirting, we didn't sleep together. We stopped seeing each other once his girlfriend moved here. He kept texting with me behind his girlfriend's back for a very long time. It took me more than six months to get over all of this. No one knows about this except our common friend.

Said guy is an assistant professor in my department, but within a different research group. He's giving a class I really want to attend, which relates directly to my current research project and would be useful in the future. If this guy would not have been lecturing, I would have definitely attended it.

How bad of an idea is it to attend this class?
posted by anonymous to Education (33 answers total) 1 user marked this as a favorite

Get someone to tape it for you.
posted by Ironmouth at 10:55 AM on October 15, 2013 [7 favorites]

Don't!

Are you sure you don't want to take this class at least in part BECAUSE he's the guy you were hot for once upon a time? Maybe you want to prove something to him, to yourself?

Think about it a lot before answering it to yourself.
posted by rhythm_queen at 10:57 AM on October 15, 2013 [2 favorites]

I think this would set both of you up for a world of hurt if you take the class. I vote 'no'. Taping it is not a horribly bad idea, but really, do you want to be listening to this guy's voice again, even from a distance, especially if it took you more than six months to get over the dude in the first place, and not so long ago?
posted by nanook at 10:57 AM on October 15, 2013 [3 favorites]

Ask a friend to take notes and get any handouts.