Thinking about applying for a transfer to a position in China
September 30, 2013 12:27 AM   Subscribe

Question written by my boyfriend but asking for both of us. Boyfriend is a western game developer considering a job in Shanghai. The position would be a promotion within the same corporation, but to a different studio. We have some questions about salary and the cost of living in Shanghai, with a bonus question about a visa for me, the girlfriend!

From boyfriend:

I’m a western game developer considering a job in Shanghai. The position would be a promotion within the same corporation, but to a different studio (I’d be moving from a mid-level position to a senior-level position). I currently earn $75,000/year. In the U.S. I’d expect to be earning at least $80,000/year with such a promotion.

We currently live in California and spend about $2,000/month in rent and utilities for a 730 sq. foot apartment. I have no other financial obligations aside from groceries, gas, and car insurance (I spend about $750/month on those). I typically save about $500/month for my emergency fund. I save another $400/month for vacations/travel. I spend about $400/month on eating out, doing things, buying stuff. My girlfriend saves a little less and spends about the same. Obviously she will not be able to contribute much, if anything, to our income in China, as she would not have a work visa.

My question is, how much would I need to make in RMB at a minimum to continue such a lifestyle? How much should I expect to make? When western employees are transferred to positions in China, do they typically earn their ‘western’ income or something more in line with a local income? I assume I would be paid in RMB and not USD?