I'm thinking of becoming a court stenographer
September 11, 2013 3:00 PM   Subscribe

What good vocational careers are available with 2-3 years training? I'm trying to think of a good career switch (I have my Bachelor's in International Studies and have been in politics for 5 years) and want to do something that pays well, is steady and won't be phased out by technology.

I seem to have settled on CART and stenography. I've read all of the Ask MeFi threads about it and even came across one MeFite's family member who is a stenographer and this really resonated with me. Anyways, I am aware of all of the people who say that stenography is a dying art with voice recognition software, but still that software doesn't understand syntax or murmuring or crosstalk (i.e. 89% percent accuracy with software compared to 98% accuracy with a real stenographer).

1. Are there other fields I should be considering? Being a paralegal doesn't pay well in my area (Western US) and the healthcare field isn't my strong suit as I'm not very science-y.

2. Is being a court stenographer at age 28 just silly? I don't know anyone my age who has done this. I want to think through every angle.

Thanks in advance.
posted by timpanogos to Work & Money (11 answers total) 10 users marked this as a favorite

Not sure what you mean by "just silly," but the idea of court reporters getting phased out isn't just a problem in the UK, it's very much happening in the US. In the western US you will probably only see court reporters in criminal trials; most jurisdictions have gone to recording civil trials for possible transcription later on. More court reporters are used for transcribing out of court depositions, but it's still a shrinking field.

To put a finer point on things, if you want to do something that "pays well, is steady and won't be phased out by technology," being a court reporter is not the answer.