How do I implement external navbars in HTML5?
August 24, 2013 2:12 PM   Subscribe

For a website, I want to have one nav.html file and include it across the site to provide a write-once horizontal navbar at the top of each page. Is there a way of doing this without server-side stuff like PHP?

The site will be in HTML5 / CSS3 and JavaScript. No frames, no Flash.

It will be a bonus if it's possible for the nav to use things like drop-down menus, and to highlight what the current page is.

This is for a client who has asked me to have a look, but I am not an expert web developer (I have tried a few things like import or include, but I get cross-site warnings in Chrome or no working CSS). The client will do most of the maintenance and just doesn't want to involve PHP (although I understand it would be pretty easy to do). My Google-fu is failing, and I can't tell if it's because I am asking the wrong question or if it really is not possible.
posted by milkb0at to Computers & Internet (9 answers total) 4 users marked this as a favorite

I haven't tried it myself since all my sites are php but have you tried

<object name="nav" type="text/html" data="nav.html"></object>
posted by missmagenta at 2:26 PM on August 24, 2013 [1 favorite]

(oh and I think you might need to declare the nav css in nav.html for it to work and be styled)
posted by missmagenta at 2:33 PM on August 24, 2013

JavaScript can fetch it using AJAX and then insert it into the page.

If the site is served by Apache, and Server Side Includes are turned on, you can use them.
posted by jsturgill at 2:34 PM on August 24, 2013

There are a couple of ways you can do this with that toolset.