I suck at cover letters
August 13, 2013 6:25 PM   Subscribe

Please give me your tips for the ever essential skill of writing a knock out cover letter.

My job application efforts are being sabotaged by my inability to write a good cover letter. While perfectly alright at writing many things for pay, this particular writing task is causing me trouble.

Some of this is because I am not good at applying to adult jobs for people with university degrees. My family background considers getting a call centre job a great deal, and I already had a huge problem with overdressing to interviews. I'm not finding all the free cover letter examples are a good source because I can't tell a good example from bad.

I can't even answer the question, if you're applying for a job via email, if you attach the cover letter or if that's in the body of the email and I only recently realized "to whom it may concern" was causing my writing to look staid and stilted.

So please share all your tips for cover letters, including formatting, word choice, etc... Any and all advice will be gladly taken.
posted by Phalene to Work & Money (35 answers total) 107 users marked this as a favorite

I don't know if this is helpful, and it goes against a lot of the conventional wisdom. But I've hired a lot of people, and I can't remember a single time that a cover letter actually HELPED one of them. It hurt some when they had glaring errors or such. But frankly I almost never do more than quickly skim them. So I'd say keep it short and sweet, and don't obsess over it too much. Maybe it's different in the jobs you're applying for, but I doubt your cover letters are sabotaging your job search unless they're truly awful...
posted by primethyme at 6:30 PM on August 13, 2013 [6 favorites]

Truth, Phalene. Nothing but the truth about yourself, and nothing but the truth about the organization to which you are applying, and what you can offer to accomplish their larger mission.