Should I tell my supervisor the reason my proposal is late?
August 13, 2013 5:23 PM   Subscribe

I'm a grad student working on a thesis proposal. Said thesis proposal was due about a week ago. The work was going pretty well until it got sidelined by an unexpected and devastating breakup with my SO, who I'd been living with. Between the moving-out and the emotional exhaustion I've neglected to update my supervisor, who's just emailed me asking why she hasn't seen the finished product yet. I'm nearly done at this point (I anticipate getting it to her by tomorrow), but I'm unsure about how to explain the delay. Is it appropriate to tell my supervisor that I'm late because of the breakup, or should I just say sorry and leave it at that?
posted by tealsocks to Human Relations (21 answers total)

I would say tell her. You're human and life happens. If you say nothing, she may assume you were just slacking.
posted by gnutron at 5:27 PM on August 13, 2013 [4 favorites]

Meet with your advisor, tell her what's going on, and come up with a new, feasible timeline. She's accountable for your progress to the department, and she needs to know what's going on with you and that it's not a problem where it's going to keep happening indefinitely.
posted by gingerest at 5:28 PM on August 13, 2013

If this had happened to me during grad school, I would have let my supervisor know what was going on. In fact, I can't think of a single prof in my department who wouldn't have responded kindly. They're people too.

Is it possible to send her what you have, even if it's not totally polished? It shows you're working.
posted by futureisunwritten at 5:29 PM on August 13, 2013 [7 favorites]

You don't have to detail the specifics of your breakup; just tell your advisor that you're having personal problems and while you've recently been sidetracked by these problems, you expect to be able to give her the completed proposal by [specific date].