Should I do an undergraduate honors thesis?
July 31, 2013 10:09 AM   Subscribe

I'm entering into my final year of undergraduate studies. As an Honors College student, I have the option to complete a thesis this year. I've already made it through the preparation semester and had my proposal accepted, but I'm not very passionate about the topic I selected, and I'm not sure if the effort of continuing with the project will be worth the reward. Details inside.

I spent my proposal semester with the same predicament described here. I had lots of big ideas I was interested in, but had a lot of trouble narrowing them down into manageable topics. I finally managed to get something down on paper for the proposal. I was excited when I submitted the proposal, but over the past few months I've pretty much lost all interest in my topic, and I'm dreading the idea of spending the next 8 months with it.

Furthermore, because of maximum credit hour reductions, I'll have to pay overload fees to complete the thesis, which will total $2200 out of pocket. In addition, I will probably have to drop my second major (or turn it into a minor), and have to resign my position as editor of the Honors College's annual publication, which I was really looking forward to.

I've spoken to others about their theses, and I'm just beginning to realize how much time I'll need to invest for it to be good. In my spare time, I had wanted to learn to code and speak another language this year. If I do the thesis, it looks like those goals will probably have to be put on hold.

The thesis is *not* required to graduate with honors. It is required to graduate with higher levels of honors. If I forego the thesis, I'll have the opportunity to do two independent studies instead, which sounds both more manageable and more enjoyable.