Analyzing a large corpus of email data
July 26, 2013 3:12 PM   Subscribe

I'm working on project for class which involves looking at a large corpus of email data for patterns in Gephi. Any patterns that we can find are fine, so long as we can justify them and back them up with qualitative analysis. This is my first time doing analysis on this scale, and I'm not entirely sure where to start. I've run a few different layout algorithms on it, and had the best results with Force Atlas 2, I've filtered out the nodes with 1 out-degree, and I've ranked node sizes by betweeness-centrallity. The graph is directed, with the edges being sized according to their weight (determined by number of mails sent), so a lot of the layout plugins I've been finding won't work (as they're tailored for undirected graphs). Is there anything obvious that I'm missing that might make for a compelling visualization, or show interesting connections in the network?
posted by codacorolla to Computers & Internet (4 answers total) 3 users marked this as a favorite

You might be able to get some inspiration from the blog entry where Stephen Wolfram creates several visualizations based on his personal email archive (discussion on the blue).
posted by ceribus peribus at 4:10 PM on July 26, 2013

Similar to what Wolfram did, I would advocate some non-graph visualizations. Use some scatterplots based on derived values and subsets.
posted by demiurge at 4:28 PM on July 26, 2013