Help me replicate this harissa!
June 11, 2013 6:16 PM   Subscribe

I love, love, love Mustapha's harissa, but sadly it no longer seems to be available, and hasn't been for some time. I have tried other harissas (Mina, Moulin Mahjoub) and they are not nearly as delicious. Is there anything else like it?

I really have three questions.

1. Is there another commercially available harissa that is equally (and similarly) delicious?

2. Can I make this particular harissa? I have made harissa paste before - it turned out sort of OK, but nothing like Mustapha's, which is the closest thing to the harissa I had in Morocco. If you have replicated this kind of harissa, do tell. I am a pretty good cook with access to pretty much any ingredient.

3. OK, this is a "can I eat this" - while moving, I discovered an unopened, sealed jar of Mustapha's harissa...that expired in 2010. Oops. But um - can I eat this? (I know the answer is probably no. But I had to ask.)
posted by goodbyewaffles to Food & Drink (6 answers total) 8 users marked this as a favorite

I have not tried this recipe, but it was imbedded in an article about Mustapha's Harissa at Saveur.com:

http://www.saveur.com/article/Recipes/Harissa
posted by michellenoel at 6:39 PM on June 11, 2013

1) The only harissa I'm familiar with is this one. I actually have a tube but can't quite figure out who makes it, so I'm not sure if it's one of the brands you mentioned, and I have no idea if the flavor profile* matches yours.

I have easy access to it, and a tube is around two bucks, so if you want to try it I'd be happy to send you one.

3) If the jar is sealed I would open it and see if it "pops". If it doesn't, don't eat it! If it does, I'd post a "Can I eat it?" question next week. I'm usually in the "eat it" camp, but there may be specific reasons why this would be a bad idea.

*I can't believe I used the phrase "flavor profile".
posted by Room 641-A at 7:25 PM on June 11, 2013